Club Racing

Racing Safety Plan

Dear Sailors,

So after a warm February, we have been hit with the spring that thinks it is winter. But have no fear, the Race Committee has been working all winter to make sure we are ready when summer finally appears.

There will be a few new elements for the 2018 season all designed to increase participation.

Most importantly, we have moved the Whalers Race to JUNE 24th. Please help us spread the word. We are hoping the earlier date, which means more daylight and the option of 2 courses, will help increase participation.

Race Committee will be offering 4 starts this summer for the Sunset Series.
-Class I will be Etchells, which will be designated by their Class Flag.
-Class II will be Race. These are boats who will be sent on a windward leeward course. Both Spinnakers and non-spinnakers are welcome to participate and   the appropriate rating will be applied. The Class Flag will be Numeral Pennant 2.
-Class III is Cruise. Courses will consist of a short beat, multiple reaches and a short beat to finish. The plan is to eliminate or minimize any dead downwind sailing. The Class Flag will be Numeral Pennant 3.
-Class IV will be Rhodes 19, which will be designated by their Class Flag.

Just a reminder that the Horatio Brewster Memorial Pursuit Race will only be on Saturday. This will allow families to decide when they would like to return and hopefully increase participation for the way over.

As a quick reminder, all vessels will be required to carry a VHF radio while racing in the Sunset Series, for safety reasons. This applies to all classes in the Sunset Series and Ladies at the Helm. We will continue to use the Three Tier Penalty system and Three Minute Justice procedures.

Crew Finder has moved to the NBYC website. Just click on the appropriate crew buttons below and you can find or gain the perfect crew person. And remember, there is always the opportunity to come out for a night on the Jonah!

The crew of Jonah looks forward to seeing you on the line from May 10 until September 27 for a spectacular season of racing.

Mary Ellen A. DeFrias

Chairman, NBYC Race Committee 

Mary Ellen DeFrias, Chairperson, NBYC Race Committee

For Crew
For Captains

Click Here for Captains in Need of Crew
Click Here for Available Crew

  • Sunset Series
  • Frostbiting
    • Saturday, April 2nd – Lasers

      Saturday, April 9 – April 30th – Sonars & Lasers

      Meet On The Deck At 10:00am

      Start Time: 11:00am
      Bring family and friends!

      All experience levels welcomed!
      Use Club Sonars and Club Lasers


      Entry Fee per week: $10.00 per Laser – $30.00 per Sonar

      Race Contact: Kenneth van Colen

      Please call the office 508-997-0762 or email: to sign up in advance.

      Last minute racers are always welcome!

  • Tuesday Night Racing
  • Demarest Lloyd Pursuit Race
    • Saturday June 2, 2018

      The event will consist of a pursuit race followed by a cruise back to Padanaram on Sunday. Dock space can be reserved for contestants to stay overnight at Menemsha.

      The perpetual trophy in memory of Demarest Lloyd and his son, Demarest Lloyd, Jr. was donated by the Lloyd family in 1950. Both father and son were enthusiastic sailors. Demarest Lloyd successfully campaigned his yawl “Angelica” in the early 1900’s. He repeated this success with his subsequent yacht “Musketeer”, which he raced and cruised until his death in 1937.

      Demarest Lloyd, Jr. began racing “O” boats at age 12. He went on to sail in the S-boat class where his “Arrow” was a well-respected competitor in Buzzards Bay. Shortly after graduating from Harvard College, he joined the navy and served as a fighter pilot with the Pacific fleet. He was killed in action over Guam on June 12, 1944.

      Awarded from 1950 to 1986 to the winner of the NBYC Memorial Day Race, this trophy since then has been awarded to the overall winner of the June “Menemsha” race. 

      This trophy will be awarded at the annual Awards Dinner in October.

      2018 Demarest Lloyd Pursuit Race Notice of Race
      2018 Demarest Lloyd Pursuit Race Entry Form
      2018 Demarest Lloyd Pursuit Race Sailing Instructions

      Demarest Lloyd Pursuit Race 2018 (Click for Results)

      Demarest Lloyd Pursuit Race Past Results
      2010 Maravilha – Victor Pinheiro

      2011 Restless – Leslie DeGroot, M.D.

      2012 Shindig – Arthur D. Burke, M.D.

      2013 Goombay – Jib Babbitt

      2014 Restless - Leslie DeGroot, M.D.

      2015 Seefest – Lesley Perry

      2016 Restless - Leslie DeGroot, M.D.

      2017 Gilgamesh - Richard Parker

      2018 Brine - Sarah Babbit

  • Horatio Brewster Pursuit Race
    • Saturday June 16, 2018

      The event will consist of one pursuit race; from Padanaram Harbor to Cuttyhunk Island starting at 1000 hours.

      2018 Race Results

      2018 Horatio Brewster Notice of Race
      2018 Horatio Brewster Entry Form
      2018 Horatio Brewster Sailing Instructions

      Horatio H. Brewster Memorial Trophy

      The trophy was given by Annette Hollis Brewster, Marion Brewster, Horatio H. Brewster, Jr. and James H. Brewster in 1965 to commemorate Mr. Brewster, Sr.’s great interest in the New Bedford Yacht Club and his love of sailing.

      The large oval silver tray is embellished with the Brewster house flag and the New Bedford Yacht Club burgee. It was amended in 1996 to be awarded to a race held on the New Bedford Yacht Club annual cruise. It was amended in 1998 to be awarded to the overall winner of the Family Regatta.

      Past Winners:

      2010 – Maravilha – Victor C. Pinheiro
      2011 – Maravilha – Victor C. Pinheiro
      2012 – Nike – James P. Medeiros
      2013 – Nike – James P. Medeiros
      2014 – Kinship – Thomas Selldorff
      2015 – Restless – Henry DeGroot, M.D.
      2016 - Restless – Leslie DeGroot, M.D.

  • Ladies at the Helm
  • Whalers Race
    • June 23, 2018

      The traditional 105 nautical mile Category III New Bedford Yacht Club Whalers Race dates back to 1932. The race starts and finishes at Padanaram and includes marks at Cuttyhunk, Noman’s, Block Island and the Buzzards Bay Tower. All points of sailing are involved. With the 1100 hour start, this can be a one (1) day event. New Bedford Yacht Club’s hospitality and the challenging and interesting course make this a very enjoyable event.

      2018 Results

      2018 Whalers Race NOR
      2018 Whalers Race Entry Form

      Perpetual Trophies

      Frank Vining Smith Trophy – Spinnaker Class

      2009 Kinship – J. Thomas Selldorff

      2010 Shindig – Arthur D. Burke, M.D.

      2011 Shindig – Arthur D. Burke, M.D.

      2012 Kinship - J.Thomas Selldorff

      2013 Shindig – Arthur D. Burke, M.D.

      2014 Crazy Horse - Kevin McLaughlin

      2015 Gentian – Benjamin Sperry

      2016 Gentian - Benjamin Sperry

      R. Eugene Ashley Memorial Trophy – Non Spinnaker Class

      2009 Calusa – Peter Holmes

      2010 Not Awarded

      2011 Kinsale -Alan Eddy

      2012 Simpatico – William Riley

      2013 Not awarded

      2014 Not awarded

      2015 Il Cattivo – Pat Cerundolo

      2016 Maravilha - Victor Pinheiro

      Narada Perpetual Challenge Cup – Doublehanded Class

      2009 Not Awarded

      2010 Spinnaker - Sundance – Albert Signorella, M.D.

      2011 Spinnaker - Sundance – Albert Signorella, M.D.

      Non Spinnaker - Whistler – Fred Schmid

      2012 Spinnaker – Yaquinha - Charles Samuelson

      2013 Spinnaker – Gryphon Solo 2 – Joe Harris

      2014 Not awarded

      2015 Not awarded

      2016 Not Awarded

      Multihull Class

      2009 Swamp Fox - Donald C. Watson

      2010 Swamp Fox – Donald C. Watson

      2011 Swamp Fox – Donald C. Watson

      2012 Swamp Fox - Donald C. Watson

      2013 Not awarded

      2014 Not awarded

      2015 Not Awarded

      2016 Swamp Fox - Donald C. Watson

  • End of Summer Regatta
  • Family Challenge Regatta